New Year 2013

 

Well here we are on the threshold of a new year… 2013

Have you made any resolutions?

Every year I resist making New Year’s resolutions… partly because I have never been able to keep any… but mostly because I begin wondering what the Lord wants for me and from me in the New Year… I have been working on that for most of my adult life and still am…

This brings questions of what my destiny is in the new year… in my life…

Questions of my purpose… the meaning of my life… is my life counting in the grand scheme of creation ? ? ? These are ancient questions that have haunted every thinking – feeling soul from the beginning of time…

How do you answer these important questions in your life????

As Christ-followers we have sure guidance if we really want it…

We have a destiny… meaning … purpose for living…

As I began to read the Scriptures this morning these are some of the thots that came…

 I see a purpose – goal- prize listed here… to fix our eyes – concentrate on what Christ is to you and is desiring to do in and thru you…          

1 Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

3 For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.   Heb 12:1-3   NASU

The Word tells me to ‘press on’ to the ‘goal’ and ‘prize’… to work on laying hold of what Christ has laid hold of me for… also not to let the past hinder me but letting the past go for the purpose of pressing on to win the prize…

 O yea… also that I should keep living by the lessons that I have learned in the past… I should order my life by these hard won lessons – but press on to learn new ones… WHY???     

12 Not that I have now attained [this ideal], or have already been made perfect, but I press on to lay hold of (grasp) and make my own, that for which Christ Jesus (the Messiah) has laid hold of me and made me His own.

13 I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead,

14 I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward.

15 So let those [of us] who are spiritually mature and full-grown have this mind and hold these convictions; and if in any respect you have a different attitude of mind, God will make that clear to you also.

16 Only let us hold true to what we have already attained and walk and order our lives by that.    Phil. 3:12-16   AMP

Paul also reminds me that I will follow someone’s example as I live my life… so why not follow another Christ-follower rather than the hopeless, helpless, confused people around me who never are able to find their true purpose or find lasting fulfillment in their life… I have a good example in the apostle Paul to follow (because he followed Christ) — pressing on to the prize of my high calling in Christ…

17 Brethren, together follow my example and observe those who live after the pattern we have set for you.

18 For there are many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, who walk (live) as enemies of the cross of Christ (the Anointed One).

19 They are doomed and their fate is eternal misery (perdition); their god is their stomach (their appetites, their sensuality) and they glory in their shame, siding with earthly things and being of their party.

20 But we are citizens of the state (commonwealth, homeland) which is in heaven (the Kingdom of God), and from it also we earnestly and patiently await [the coming of] the Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah) [as] Savior,

21 Who will transform and fashion anew the body of our humiliation to conform to and be like the body of His glory and majesty, by exerting that power which enables Him even to subject everything to Himself.            Phil 3:17-21 AMP

 So, you may be wondering… what is that goal – that prize??? That High calling ???

Paul answers that question in  3:7-11

7 But whatever former things I had that might have been gains to me, I have come to consider as [one combined] loss for Christ’s sake.

8 Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. For His sake I have lost everything and consider it all to be mere rubbish (refuse, dregs), in order that I may win (gain) Christ (the Anointed One),

9 And that I may [actually] be found and known as in Him, not having any [self-achieved] righteousness that can be called my own, based on my obedience to the Law’s demands (ritualistic uprightness and supposed right standing with God thus acquired), but possessing that [genuine righteousness] which comes through faith in Christ (the Anointed One), the [truly] right standing with God, which comes from God by [saving] faith.

10 [For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death, [in the hope]

11 That if possible I may attain to the [spiritual and moral] resurrection [that lifts me] out from among the dead [even while in the body].    Phil.3:7-11 AMP

Now those are worthy New Years resolutions maybe even resolutions that we can press on to, grasping a hold of for the rest of our lives – not just a new year… to be continually transformed into His likeness – becoming more and more like Christ so that the world can see Jesus through me… and be drawn to Him to receive Him as Savior and Lord as we have…

 What do you think???

Another purpose and goal that God has for us is to be equipped to do the work of ministry that He gives each believer to do… are you being equipped and doing the work of ministry that He has given you to do and BE???

12 for the equipping of the saints for the work of service, to the building up of the body of Christ; 13 until we all attain to the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a mature man, to the measure of the stature which belongs to the fullness of Christ. 14 As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming; 15 but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ, 16 from whom the whole body, being fitted and held together by what every joint supplies, according to the proper working of each individual part, causes the growth of the body for the building up of itself in love.

Eph 4:12-16    NASU

I think that these are worthy resolutions to make in the New Year 2013…

 What do you think???

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

