#2 – Let’s Search Our Hearts…

#2  Spiritual Life Challenge

Let’s Search Our Hearts…

1 Thess 1:4-10  AMP

 4 [O] brethren beloved by God, we recognize and know that He has selected (chosen) you; [we know that we are loved by God and are chosen by Him because we have received Christ as our Savior by His grace and faith alone, and we are new in Him]

5 For our [preaching of the] glad tidings (the Gospel) came to you not only in word, but also in [its own inherent] power and in the Holy Spirit and with great conviction and absolute certainty [on our part]. [The Word will come in power that changes us whenever it is given by the anointing of the Holy Spirit.] You know what kind of men we proved [ourselves] to be among you for your good.

6 And you [set yourselves to] become imitators of us and [through us] of the Lord Himself, [are we imitators of our Godly leaders and of Jesus, or are we still imitating the world???] for you welcomed our message [do we welcome the message that our spiritual leaders bring us, or do we find fault and criticize them???] in [spite of] much persecution, with joy [inspired] by the Holy Spirit;

7 So that you [thus] became a pattern to all the believers (those who adhere to, trust in, and rely on Christ Jesus) [what kind of report about us do other believers get because of the way we live and relate to others? Do we truly ‘rely on’ –‘ trust in’ – and ‘adhere to’ Jesus?] in Macedonia and Achaia (most of Greece).

8 For not only has the Word concerning and from the Lord resounded forth from you unmistakably in Macedonia and Achaia [when we do receive the Word of The Lord do we share it with others?], but everywhere the report has gone forth of your faith in God [of your leaning of your whole personality on Him in complete trust and confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness] [is this the kind of ‘faith’ we have – ‘leaning of your whole personality on Him in complete trust and confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness’]. So we [find that we] never need to tell people anything [further about it].

9 For they themselves volunteer testimony concerning us, telling what an entrance we had among you, and how you turned to God from [your] idols to serve a God Who is alive and true and genuine [when God saved us we turned from the ways and idols of the world to God],

10 And [how you] look forward to and await the coming of His Son from heaven [many believers look forward to Jesus coming back for us so we can escape the trials of life – not because we love Him and want to be with Him], Whom He raised from the dead — Jesus, Who personally rescues and delivers us out of and from the wrath [bringing punishment] which is coming [upon the impenitent] and draws us to Himself [investing us with all the privileges and rewards of the new life in Christ, the Messiah].

As I read and study the Word, I can’t help but ask these kinds of questions about myself. I regularly asking the Holy Spirit to search me and reveal any areas of change I need – and then I ask Him to help me to change … so I can be more like Jesus … so I can do the kinds of works He did and wants us to do until He comes back for us…

Prayer Thot:       Lord help me to see myself and the areas I need to change so I can be more and more Like You. Then help me to be about my Father’s business and do the works You did and even the greater works You said we could do… for Your Glory…

This entry was posted in Spiritual Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #2 – Let’s Search Our Hearts…

  1. Louis Curcio says:

    Jim

    I echo your prayer. I know that a few years back, I was just going through the motions, pastoring in a church with no joy or passion. The words of Jesus from John 10:10 kept on coming to me along with other passages that challenged me to examine my life and what I saw was not good. Too many times I was living under my own strength and getting frustrated trying to live the way God told me to. I asked the Lord to give me that abundant life He promised, the promise to do greater things than the disciples. I still daily plead with Him to help me to be Jesus to others, that His love would literally pour from my pores. That will only happen thru the power of His Spirit. I am still growing in how to do this. I pray that the passion to live this way would not wain! May God move by HIs Spirit to give all of us believers this passion.

Leave a Reply

